

Office of the Dean College of Information Sciences and Technology The Pennsylvania State University 332 Information Sciences and Technology Building University Park, PA 16802-6823

814-865-3528 Fax: 814-865-5604 ist.psu.edu

Structure of Promotion and Tenure Committees

The College of Information Sciences and Technology

The pool for membership in the committee for tenure consists of all tenured faculty members with a majority appointment in the college. The committee is comprised of five tenured faculty members. Two full professors and two associate professors are elected by the faculty and the Dean appoints one member. The appointed member serves a one-year term. Members can serve multiple terms. In steady state, in the spring of each year, one full professor and one associate professor are elected to the committee for a two year term. Each year the dean appoints one member of the committee for a one year term. Elections take place prior to the member appointment by the dean. The Dean will select the committee chair once all five members are in place.

In the event of tie votes, the Dean will determine the outcome.

In the event that an elected member cannot serve the second year of their service, a replacement for that one year will be determined by election.

The electorate consists of all faculty members who are tenure-track or tenured with a majority appointment in the college.

At the discretion of the Dean, external members may be added where appropriate to support crossdisciplinary fields.

For a promotion committee, all Tenure Committee members with rank greater than or equal to the promotion rank would serve on the committee. A committee must consist of at least three members. The Dean would appoint full professors up to that number if required. Again, external membership would take place where appropriate.

Approved by faculty – 8/20/02 Revised – 1/30/06 Revised – 8/12/09 Revised – 2/26/15 – approved by Mary Beth Rosson, Interim Dean Revised – 1/22/16 – Graphic Only